Product detail

Jamaica Inn

Jamaica Inn

Author: Daphne Du Maurier
Series: VMC
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 2
Description
In the bitter November wind, Mary Yellan crosses Bodmin Moor to Jamaica Inn. Her mother's dying wish was that she take refuge there, with her Aunt Patience. But when Mary arrives, the warning of the coachman echoes in her mind: Jamaica Inn has a desolate power, and behind it's crumbling walls Patience is a changed woman, cowering before her brooding, violent husband. When Mary discovers the inn's dark secrets, the truth is more terrifying than anything she could possibly imagine, and she is forced to collude in her uncle's murderous schemes. Against her will, she finds herself powerfully attracted to her uncle's brother, a man she dares not trust.
Promotion info

* Target Mother/Daughter summer reading promotions, with the YA and adult editions of the books * Website coverage * Events/festivals reevaluating du Maurier and her legacy * Social media competitons

Reviews

A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights -- Emma Frost Independent A dark tale. A brilliant thriller Daily Express Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner The Times

Author description

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89), daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier, was born in London, educated at home and in Paris, and lived much of her life in her beloved Cornwall, the setting for many of her novels. Most of her novels have been bestsellers and many have been made into films. She is considered one of the most accomplished novelists of the twentieth century.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780349006581
  • : Little, Brown Book Group
  • : Virago Press Ltd
  • : July 2015
  • : 198mm X 132mm X 22mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Daphne Du Maurier
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : en
  • : 320