Product detail

The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath And Ted Hughes

The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath And Ted Hughes

Author: Janet Malcolm
$24.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

The Silent Woman is a brilliant, elegantly reasoned meditation on the nature of biography. Janet Malcolm (author of Reading Chekhov, The Journalist and the Murderer, In the Freud Archives) examines the biographies of Sylvia Plath, with particular focus on Anne Stevenson's controversial Bitter Fruit, to discover how Plath became the enigma of literary history, and how the legend continues to exert such a hold on our imaginations.


"Rich and theatrical."--The New York Times Book Review. "The Silent Woman is one of the deepest, loveliest, and most problematic things Janet Malcolm has written. It is so subtle, so patiently analytical, and so true that it is difficult to envisage anyone writing again about Plath and Hughes. She is the cat who has licked the plate clean. It has an almost disabling authority about it, a finality like a father's advice."--James Wood, The Guardian (London) "Not since Virginia Woolf has anyone thought so trenchantly about the strange art of biography."--Christopher Benfey, Newsday "There is more intellectual excitement in one of Malcolm's riffs than in many a thick academic tome . . . She is among the most intellectually provocative of authors . . . able to turn epiphanies of perception into explosions of insight."--David Lehman, Boston Globe "It is the best-written and most stirring polemic of the year. Completely brilliant."--David Hare, The Times (London)

Author description

Janet Malcolm lives in New York City. Reading Chekhov, The Journalist and the Murderer, In the Freud Archives and Psychoanalysis: The Impossible Profession are all published by Granta Books.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781847085375
  • : Granta Books
  • : Granta Books
  • : April 2012
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Janet Malcolm
  • : Paperback
  • : 2
  • : 224